Politics and Society

Regular information on things
that are moving our country

 

Real estates and the upcoming tax reform (1998)

The henceforth upcoming tax reform will be especially afflicting the real estate market, as one can expect. Landlords will be faced with taxation of the capital gain when they keep their property for less than ten years. Providing that the property is let - properties used by the owner will be excepted by this.

A misfortune for all those that had bought properties in the new states with the idea to resell after five years. On the other hand it is no reason to worry at an early stage. Since first of all only the gain – meaning the difference achieved – needs to be taxed, which need to be gained at first; second of all, it anyways accords to a wise and long-term strategy to keep real property. Furthermore, this is not affecting those dealing with commercial real property, since these anyways had to pay taxes on the commercial gain of the real estate business and need to keep on doing so.

The action will be a misfortune in those cases where real properties have been bought cheaply and the acquirer was planning from the beginning on to resell the property profitably after four or five years. In this case he now has to bite the bullet and pay taxes on the gain at his personal tax rate. Small consolation: Where something needs to be taxed, something will be left over in any case. For it will be looking much worse to those reselling their property with no gain at all or even with loss – no matter after what time period.

There are further important changes in the depreciation for wear and tear. As is generally known, the special depreciation for wear and tear anyways expires in the new federal states and Berlin by the 31st December 1998 – so whoever wants to profit by this law for the upcoming ten years needs to act immediately and acquire a not-renovated apartment or house still this year and refurbish and complete it by the 31st December 1999.

Many do not know that the special depreciation for wear and tear for old buildings consists of a sum amounting to 40 % of the refurbishment costs, including the percentage of the acquisition costs. Based on ones decision this sum can be put in claim and deducted in the year of the purchase or divided by four years starting from the year of the purchase. The advantage for self-employed: also retroactive corrections toward the tax office are possible – meaning one can arbitrarily divide and rearrange these 40%, as it is optimum based on ones income tax.

The rest of the refurbishment costs can be divided into the remaining time equally, e.g. also 60% into 9 years or 6 years, depending on how one divided the first 40%.

It is yet uncertain what the depreciation will look like in future. Some proclamations are sitting in space. For instance, to name a few, the increased possibility of depreciation for refurbishments on landmarked buildings is supposed to be prolonged from (as it is now) 10 years / 100% to 20 years / 100%. This means that the yearly deductable sum only consists of 5 instead of 10%; a difference that could be giving some constructors a hard time to even come close to a landmarked building. A shame about the urban development, and yet another drop of bitterness will fall upon the old roofs: the special regulations for urbanistic redevelopment areas, hitherto virtually on equal terms with the monument protection, is supposed to be cancelled fully. Though this very regulation could have brought into being an indirect extension of the special depreciation for wear and tear in the new federal states if it would have been kept (in spite of being divided by 10 years to 10% / year); from now on this constructional substance is supposed to be put under the normal old building depreciation for wear and tear. No more incentive for any constructor to deal with some scruffy walls when he is not forced to do so…. And, unfortunately, a sad point of view for the cities.

As to what will happen to the depreciation for wear and tear for new buildings and if the current regulation will be kept – nobody really knows.

Our recommendation:

Whoever can afford it should invest his funds into real estates still this year and should take advantage of the fiscal benefits as far as possible, and even perhaps secure an extensive advantage for the next TEN years.

 

 

 

 

Or simply call or email us in case what you are looking for is not listed here:

AllGrund Ltd.
Tel: +49-6103-310847
or +49 (0)700 1010 7000
12 ç per Minute from german T-Com net; prices may vary in other networks

Skype: allgrund

email: contact @ allgrund.com

| Objects for sale | purchase request | objects for rent | rentalsearch |current market news |
| offer property for sale | offer property for rent | general contact | home | archive | tob | imprint
Copyright © 1997-2009 by AllGrund Ltd. All rights reserved. Content, design and concept are intellectual property of AllGrund Ltd. and protected by international copyright law. AllGrund is a registered trademark ® with the registered number 302008004170 Deutsches Patent- und Markenamt in Munich and an Internationally Registered Trade Mark ™ registered at the World Intellectual Property Organization in Geneva with the international registation No. 978744. No parts of this website and no photos or other material may be copied, printed and used without permission of the website owner. Print versions of property descriptions are for use by the interested client only.
Current Purchase Offers:
Most recent Rental Offers:
Important note: Any evaluations, advices and indications on our information and internet pages are mostly subjective evaluations and solely have the purpose of giving real estate investors a general orientation. They make no claim to be complete, right or constantly valid. Most real estate information is founded on conditions or legal regulations (taxes, regulations about apartment ownership, tenant’s rights and more) which might have been current or of interest for real estate buyers at the time the text was written. These conditions and legal foundations – especially also fiscal aspects – possibly have changed by now. Thus we recommend, before one does any property purchase, to get the current data on the real estate markets, tax- and other legal regulations and innovations, as far as these could be of importance to the objective and subjective success of the investment.

Politik und Gesellschaft

Regelmäßige Informationen über Dinge, die unser Land bewegen

Immobilien und die
bevorstehende Steuerreform (1998)

Die nunmehr bevorstehende Steuerreform wird insbesondere der Immobilienlandschaft hart zusetzen, wie zu erwarten sein dürfte. Immobilienbesitzern droht eine Versteuerung des Veräußerungsgewinns, wenn sie die Immobilie weniger als zehn Jahre im Bestand halten. Voraussetzung ist allerdings, daß die Immobilie vermietet ist - bei eigengenutzten Häusern und Wohnungen soll eine Ausnahme gemacht werden.

Pech für alle jene, die vor allem in den Neuen Bundesländern mit der Idee gekauft haben, nach fünf Jahren die Immobilie zu veräußern. Doch andererseits auch kein Grund, sich frühzeitig Sorgen zu machen. Denn erstens muß nur der Gewinn - also die erzielte Differenz zu den Anschaffungskosten - versteuert werden, und der muß erst mal erzielt werden; zweitens entspricht es ohnehin einer sinnvoll ausgerichteten langfristigen Strategie des Vermögensaufbaus, Immobilien im Bestand zu halten. Weiterhin sind die nicht betroffen, die gewerblichen Grundstückshandel betreiben, denn diese mußten ohnehin den gewerblich erzielten Gewinn aus Immobiliengeschäften versteuern und müssen dies auch weiterhin tun.

Wehtun dürfte die Maßnahme in all jenen Fällen, wo Immobilien einmal günstig gekauft wurden (als echtes Schnäppchen) und der Erwerber von vornherein plante, das Objekt nach vier, fünf Jahren gewinnträchtig wieder zu veräußern. In diesem Fall muß er nun in den sauren Apfel beißen und den Gewinn seinem persönlichen Steuersatz unterziehen. Kleines Trostpflaster: Wo was versteuert werden muß, bleibt in jedem Fall auch was übrig. Denn viel schlimmer sieht es ja für den aus, der seine Immobilie gar nicht mit Gewinn oder gar nur mit Verlust wieder an den Mann oder die Frau zu bringen vermag - egal nach welchem Zeitraum.

Weitere wichtige Änderungen gibt es bei der Abschreibung für Abnutzung, kurz Afa. Bekanntlich läuft die Sonder-Afa in den neuen Bundesländern und Berlin ohnehin zum 31.12.1998 aus - wer für die kommenden zehn Jahre noch davon profitieren möchte, der muß umgehend handeln und in diesem Jahr noch eine unsanierte Wohnung oder ein Haus erwerben und dies bis zum 31.12.1999 sanieren und fertigstellen lassen. Ab dem 1.1.1999 ist es unweigerlich zu spät!

Viele wissen nicht, daß die Sonder-Afa bei Altbauten aus einem Betrag besteht, der 40 Prozent des Sanierungsaufwandes inklusive des prozentualen Anteils der Anschaffungskosten ausmacht. Diesen Betrag kann man nun wahlweise im Jahr der Anschaffung oder beliebig verteilt auf vier Jahre ab Anschaffung geltend machen und absetzen. Das Gute für Selbständige: auch nachträgliche Korrekturen gegenüber dem Finanzamt sind möglich - Sie können diese 40% also ziemlich beliebig verteilen und umschichten, wie es für Ihre Einkommensteuer optimal ist.

Der Rest des Sanierungsaufwandes kann über die Restlaufzeit gleichmäßig verteilt werden, also 60% beispielsweise auf 9 Jahre oder auf 6 Jahre, je nachdem wie man die ersten 40% verteilt hat.

Wie die Abschreibung in Zukunft aussehen wird, ist noch unsicher. Es stehen einige Ankündigungen im Raum. So soll unter anderem die erhöhte Abschreibungsmöglichkeit für Sanierungsarbeiten an denkmalgeschützten Gebäuden von derzeit 10 Jahren / 100% auf 20 Jahre / 100% verlängert werden. Das bedeutet anders gerechnet, daß der jährlich absetzbare Betrag nur noch 5 statt bisher 10% beträgt, eine Differenz, die es so manchem Häuslebauer schwermachen dürfte, sich dem unangenehmen Thema Denkmalschutz überhaupt noch zu nähern. Schade um den Städtebau, und auch ein zweiter Wermutstropfen wird auf die alten Dächer fallen: Die bisher praktisch dem Denkmalschutz gleichgestellten Sonderregelungen für städtebauliche Sanierungsgebiete soll ganz gestrichen werden. Dabei hätte gerade diese Regelung in den neuen Bundesländern eine Art indirekte Verlängerung der Sonder-Afa mit sich bringen können, wäre es dabei geblieben (wenn auch dann verteilt auf zehn Jahre zu je 10%); nunmehr soll diese bauliche Substanz der ganz normalen Altbau-Afa unterzogen werden. Für keinen Bauherrn mehr ein Anreiz, sich mit maroden Mauern herumzuschlagen, wenn er nicht gerade dazu gezwungen ist.... und für die Städte leider eine traurige Perspektive.

Was mit der Neubau-Afa letztlich wird, ob die derzeit gültige Regelung der degressiven Afa bleiben wird - niemand weiß es wohl so ganz genau.

Unsere Empfehlung:

Wer kann, sollte noch in diesem Jahr sein Vermögen in Immobilien anlegen, sollte steuerliche Vergünstigungen nutzen so weit wie möglich und sich vielleicht sogar für die nächsten Z E H N Jahre einen beträchtlichen Vorteil sichern.

 

Oder rufen Sie uns einfach an, wenn das, was Sie suchen, hier nicht zu finden ist:

AllGrund Ltd.
Tel: 06103 / 310847
oder +49 (0)700 1010 7000
12 ç pro Minute aus dem dt. T-Com Festnetz


email: contact @ allgrund.com

| Kaufobjekte | Kaufanfrage | Mietobjekte | Mietanfrage | allgemeiner kontakt | aktuelle news|
| Immobilie zum Verkauf anbieten | immobilie zum vermieten anbieten | home | archiv | agb | impressum |
Copyright © 1997-2009 by AllGrund Ltd. Alle Rechte vorbehalten. Inhalt, Design und Konzeption sind geistiges Eigentum der AllGrund Ltd. und durch Internationales Urheberrecht geschützt. AllGrund ist eine eingetragene Marke (®) mit der Nr. 302008004170 Deutsches Patent- und Markenamt in München sowie ein Internationales Registered Trade Mark(™) eingetragen bei der World Intellectual Property Organization in Genf mit der internationalen Registriernummer 978744. Kein Teil dieser Website, kein Bild- oder sonstiges Material darf ohne Genehmigung der Copyright-Inhaber kopiert, gedruckt oder verwendet werden. Druckversionen der angebotenen Objekte sind nur für den Gebrauch durch Kauf- oder Mietinteressenten.
Aktuelle Kaufangebote:
Aktuelle Mietangebote:
Wichtiger Hinweis: Jegliche Auswertungen, Ratschläge und Hinweise auf unseren Informations- und Internetseiten sind zumeist subjektive Auswertungen und dienen lediglich der allgemeinen Orientierung von Immobilieninvestoren. Sie erheben keinerlei Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit, Richtigkeit oder immerwährende Gültigkeit. Die meisten Immobilieninformationen beruhen auf Gegebenheiten oder gesetzlichen Regelungen (Steuern, WEG, Mietrecht u.v.m.), die zum Zeitpunkt, als der Text verfaßt wurde, gerade aktuell oder von Interesse für Immobilienerwerber gewesen sein mochten. Diese Gegebenheiten und gesetzlichen Grundlagen - insbesondere auch steuerliche Aspekte - können sich mittlerweile geändert haben. Vor jedem Immobilienerwerb empfehlen wir daher das Einholen aktueller Daten über Immobilienmärkte, steuerliche und andere gesetzliche Regelungen und Neuerungen, soweit diese für den objektiven und subjektiven Erfolg des Investments von Bedeutung sein könnten.